Adam Schenk the latest player to incur a penalty for violating one of golf’s new rules


The Honda Classic - Round Two
Matt Sullivan

Adam Schenk was the latest victim of a violation of a new rule. (Photo by Matt Sullivan/Getty Images)

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. — For the second time this week at the Honda Classic a player has been penalized for violating one of golf’s new rules.

On Saturday, Adam Schenk was issued a two-stroke penalty for his caddie standing behind him once he took a stance in the bunker on the par-3 17th during Friday’s second round at PGA National. Schenk played the shot without backing away, causing the violation.

Rule 10.2b(4) states that a player is not allowed to have his or her caddie deliberately stand behind him or her when the player begins taking a stance because aiming at the intended target is one of the challenges the player must overcome alone.

RELATED: In poking fun at new rules, PGA Tour players are actually sending a serious message

The rule also states that although there is no set procedure for determining when a player has begun to take a stance, if a player has his or her feet or body close to a position where guidance on aiming at the target could be given, it should be decided that the player has begun to take his or her stance.

Had Schenk backed out of his stance, there would have been no penalty. The 27-year-old dropped from two strokes off the 36-hole lead to four back.

Rule 10.2b(4) has come under fire recently with Haotong Li the first player penalized under the new rule earlier this year in Dubai. Just a few days later, Denny McCarthy was also penalized at the Waste Management Phoenix Open before the PGA Tour rescinded the penalty, after speaking with the USGA and Justin Thomas, who had voiced his concern over a similar situation involving him and his caddie at the Phoenix Open.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *